Tutorial: Cap Sleeve red and black Lacy Shrug

I came across a cap sleeve shrug pattern on modestprom.com via Pinterest some time back and have been planning to try it out. Since i’ve got a birthday present to make, I thought, “Perfect! I could kill two birds with one stone!” Although, I’d never stone a bird, much less kill one. Who came up with that phrase?!

Here is the pattern taken from modestprom.com.

From modestprom.com

I put my cutting board on the floor, and laid a sheet of stuffing paper that I saved from new handbags some friends purchased. Drew the pattern and then cut it out. Those squares are really helpful. Tip: I referenced the image off my smart phone. Should have printed out a hardcopy to make notes so that I don’t lose my placing. Column 4 from the right, row 6 from bottom… gets a bit much to handle once you hit the curved sections.

shrug pattern

shrug pattern

Place the pattern over some fabric. I picked a red stretchy knit since I wasn’t sure about the fit. Made sure I cut it so that the stretch is on the horizontal axis. This is such a simple pattern as you only need to fold the fabric in half, match it up on the straight side, and cut just one piece.

cut out fabric based on pattern

cut out fabric based on pattern

one-piece shrug

one-piece shrug that resembles a butterfly

Fold along the shoulder seam. Match up the top and bottom side seams.

Pin pin pin...

Pin pin pin…

Sew along the underarm seams.

Sew along the underarm seams.

The instructions said to hem the edges so I did.

Double fold and zia zag stitch

Double fold and zia zag stitch

I could have stopped here but I wanted to do a little more with this shrug. I started by adding black lace to the sleeves. First, I placed the lace on the right side of the fabric. Zigzagged stitch around, with the lace edge meeting at the underarm seam. Flipped the lace outwards, folding the red edge inwards, and then top stitched.

Add black lace to sleeves

Add black lace to sleeves

Front view

Front view

I have some elastic black lace from Hobby Lobby that was puprchased years ago with their 40% off coupon. It was a great deal. I played around with placement until I hit upon this:

Pinned the lace on

Faux cowl neck?

Pinned the lace on. Be sure not to stretch it or the fabric will pucker in unsightly ways.

Pinned the lace on. Be sure not to stretch it or the fabric will pucker in unsightly ways.

Zigzag stitched all around the edge in 2 parallel lines. The second line of stitching should hold the short gathered edge of the lace down – which decreases the need to iron.

It's done!

It’s done! Took me 2 hours from drawing of the pattern to finish.

What do you think of the changes I made? Will you try out the shrug pattern? Share links/photos if you do! Hope the birthday girl likes it!

Leave a Reply

