Tutorial: Rectangle v-neck sleeveless top

I was surfing pinterest and stumbled upon photos of rectangle skirts and thought, hey, I can make one for myself. Seems simple enough. Looking through my fabric stash, I found a pin-striped suiting material in navy that I thought would look pretty good.

I folded the material in half twice over and cut off 18″ of it with my trusty rotary cutter. Why 18″? I thought that would be a nice length for a skirt that ends just above my knees.

No stretch navy and white suiting fabric

No stretch navy and white suiting fabric

Then i folded the long edges twice inwards before sewing with a straight stitch. This prevents the fabric from fraying. I did the same with the short edges.

Fold twice over inwards to hide raw edge.

Fold twice over inwards to hide raw edge.

I lay the fabric on the floor and pulled both short ends toward the middle. I flipped one end so that it would be perpendicular to the other edge. See how the pinstripes are perpendicular to one another? Hold on to the edges with right sides touching, pin, then sew on the wrong side.

20140721_230813

At this point, I pulled it on and wondered if i should put a zipper in or an elastic band. I didn’t like either idea and on a whim, pulled it up to my chest. Voila! It will be a top with a v-neck. So i set out to make straps with 4″ strips of the same fabric. Sew the edges to prevent fraying, then with pins and dress form, find the right positions for the straps.

1 long strip that I cut into 2 shorter straps after finishing edges

1 long strip that I cut into 2 shorter straps after finishing edges

Since I didn’t do any measuring for fit, the top was rather loose on me. I folded the back into a pleat and sewed along the seam line. I can still pull this on as the rest of the top is loose fitting.

Pleat

Pleat

The top is ready! I’m thinking some of my pregnant friends might be able to wear this with style. What do you think? Here are some examples of how one could style this top.

One thing I always end up doing, is wearing the top in reverse. So I tried, and it looked pretty awesome! Check it out.

Pretty simple right? You can make one like this in under an hour.

Update August 17 2014. Here’s how I styled this top today. Wondering if I should have the tail in front or at the back.

image

image

Decided to add a belt after all.
image
image

image

Leave a Reply

